Mylifesamess's Blog

Hoarders

Posted in Uncategorized by mylifesamess on 01/01/2010

My blog would not be complete without at least one entry regarding the A&E show “Hoarders.” It’s mildly addictive, infuriating, terrifying, and motivational.  I’ve been incorporating Dr. Diaz’s advice “Don’t drop” and “Every toy has a home” into my after work routine, wherein I usually dump my bag and coat by my mattress and toss my work clothes onto a large pile of clothing laying on my drawers.

Indeed, I became mildly agitated after seeing Jill’s home and kitchen, stuffed with rotting food.  I immediately went to the fridge and filled a grocery bag with the deadliest items, including a pot of couscous which was turning to goo.

I feel a bit lucky when I watch the show, as I see some of myself in many of these people, and what I could be.  I have a couple shopping bags of trash by the door instead of a carpet of trash requiring a shovel to remove.  Our kitchen is more dirty dishes than clean, but a few minutes of dish washing and counter wiping takes care of the problem.  And, while I may have more stuff than I’d like, I still know exactly what I have and where it is.  Maybe I’m more of a functional adult than I thought.

Tagged with:

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ribs said, on 01/09/2010 at 5:35 am

    It’s definitely addictive, or at least engrossing. I can’t seem to take my eyes off of it. http://ribsramblings.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/messy-tv-get-it-like-must-see-tv/


Leave a Reply

