Mylifesamess's Blog

Stuck with Cases

Posted in Uncategorized by mylifesamess on 03/28/2010

I find all  the “upcycle” craft stuff pretty irritating.  I don’t want to turn my cassettes into wallets and lamps, and I don’t want to make a CD case mural.  I just want to get rid of this stuff as responsibly as I can.

I could have sworn that there was a CD case drop off out by Philadelphia, but after extensively searching county and state waste management websites, I just can’t find it.  Only one person on Freecycle was interested in the cases, but they never showed up.  I think I’m going to have to bite the bullet and do the GreenDisk thing, which is really a last choice.  I don’t like that I have to pay a fee for the recycling processing as well as for the shipping charges, and I don’t like the idea of just packing stuff up and shipping it to some address I found on the internet.  I also don’t like the website.

The two ways I can look at this are :

– I’ll report on my experiences, and if they screw me over, then I can attempt to make as many people aware as possible.

– I’m making the best decision I can based on the information I have at the moment.

The second one is something I’ve been working on for a while.  I have a tendency to beat myself up if I make a decision that doesn’t end up working out the way I wanted it to.  I can’t keep leaving these cases lying around, and the thought of just throwing them in the trash just bugs the crap out of my environmentally conscious side.

Update:

After some packing, weighing, and estimating, it looks like I’m going to spend about $50 on this endeavor.  Now, I’ve blown more money on worse things, but still, that’s substantial.  The good news is that, since I rarely buy physical CD’s anymore, I will probably never accumulate quite as many cases again and incur this kind of cost.  I would feel better about dropping this kind of money if I had a little more confidence in the business.

Leave a Reply

